I've started dating - again...


Note: The above picture is NOT from my date🙂

First of all I should probably address why I’m writing in English… I’ve been on a date with a woman I meet online on a dating site and since she’s from the UK she will of course not understand a word if I write in Danish. I suggest she might be curious and check out my blog – if that’s the case; hello Monica!

Anyway… I’ve been single for a few years now and until recently I haven’t really considered getting back out there. It’s not that I wasn’t interested in finder a girlfriend but I honestly couldn’t figure out how I should start dating or if I even had the time for another person in my busy life.

I’ve never been one to consider buying products or using services based on advertising but during one of my scrolling-sessions on Reddit I stumbled upon an advertisement for a dating site. I can’t really remember what it said or what was shown – it was a picture with some text though. I wish I’d remember because they might have found the holy grail of advertising seeing as they could convince ME.

So I clicked the ad and got forwarded to the dating site on which I started typing in my personal information. I also had to answer questions about myself so the matchmaking thingies could see what puzzle-piece would fit mine.

I was, as you can probably read from this, a bit skeptical about it all. I really loathe personality tests. I’ve done one 2 or 3 times before at different jobs because my respective bosses thought it was a good idea to put all their employees into little boxes based on whether they prefer to stay at home drinking coffee or climbing mountains. Sigh….

I’m not one to shy away from admitting when I’m wrong and since the effect of the personality test on this specific dating site accomplished what it set up to do – matching me with the woman of my dreams – I’ll just have to accept that personality actually DO work. (Sometimes… It didn’t improve our work environment at my previous work. The score is 1:1 then.)

I ended up chatting with a beautiful woman named Monica whom, according to the algorithms, was a perfect match for me. After sending messages to each other for a couple of weeks we decided to meet. I was going on a business trip to England in a few weeks so the opportunity was perfect.

The date went great and during my week in England we ended up seeing each every day but one. Unfortunately it has been a bit difficult to meet up because of the current situation in the world, but we use FaceTime to talk to each other every day and we’re both very excited to see each other again.

Since my succes with online dating I've done some more research into it all out of curosity and it seems like there really is a website for everyone out there. In my research I found plenty of regular sites but also some targeted seniors specifically - I even found a bunch of hookup sites on which you can establish a connection with other singles looking for a casual relationship.